Paul Risseeuw Sportsmanship Award




The Paul Risseeuw Sportsmanship Award is an ECSA award given annually if a deserving recipient is nominated and selected. It is to be awarded to a junior sailor that best exemplifies the spirit of sportsmanship in the ECSA. The winning sailor will demonstrate sportsmanship, fair—play, and concern for fellow sailors.



Paul W Risseeuw was the ECSA Junior Chairman for 23 years from 1992 until 2015. During and prior to that time Paul was continuously involved at the club, local, regional and national levels working to improve junior sailing programs. As an accomplished racer he wanted junior sailors to learn to “sail fast.” But more than that he wanted them to learn to sail fair and develop into good people while having fun. Paul worked tirelessly toward these goals and his efforts were felt and appreciated by all.



The award is open to any ECSA junior sailor who reaches his 13th but not 19th birthday in the calendar year. The sailor shall be nominated by their club, fellow sailors or sailing organization. Nominations shall be submitted in writing by mail or email to the ECSA Junior Chairman at any time. Nominations shall be submitted with a paragraph providing details as to how the individual exhibited sportsmanship, either from a single significant event and/or sustained exemplary performance.



Submissions will be reviewed by the ECSA board of directors to select a final recipient. The award will be announced and presented at the end of season ECSA Junior Award Event. There will be a perpetual trophy and a “keeper award.” The perpetual trophy is to be held by the recipient’s club for the ensuing year. The keeper shall be presented to the recipient and is to be an “item of use."

Paul W Risseeuw

Canoneer Paul

Sail Fast Paul

Year Recipient Club
2018 Lily Flack Wadawanuck
2017 Peter Cronin Mudratz
2016 Ian Hurley Pettipaug